Siddhanth Poonja & Shriyana S Mallya are State U-13 Boys & Girls Champions for 2023.

StateU13BG - Karnataka State Chess Association

The Karnataka State U-13 Open and Girls Chess Championship 2023 organized by Mysore Chess Centre, Mysore, under the aegis of Karnataka State Chess Association, was inaugurated by Sri. D.P. Anantha, President, Karnataka State Chess Association with Karnataka’s first Grand Master M.S. Thejkumar by moving the chess pawns and by lighting the lamp. Sri. Aravind Shastri, Secretary, KSCA, Sri. Manjunath Jain, Treasurer, KSCA, Sri. Vikram Das, Proprietor, Dasprakash Paradise Hotel, Sri. C.K. Muralidharan, Freelance Sports Journalist & office bearer MDCA and Sri. Nagendra Muralidhar Vice-president, KSCA, and Promoter, of Mysore Chess Centre were present on this occasion.

The three-day championship attracted more than 300 players from various parts of the State. The championship was conducted in the Swiss league system consisting of 9 rounds. Open group 214 players among them 99 players were FIDE rated Sathvik Adiga was the top-seeded player with a 1754 rating followed by Siddhanth Poonja (1622) and Aarav Saish Amonker (1611). In the Girl’s group, 89 players participated, Women candidate master Shriyana S Mallya 1502 was the top-seeded player followed by Akshaya Sathi 1446 and Krupha S Ukkali.

In the open category Siddhanth Poonja of Bengaluru scored 8 points out of 9 rounds with this he clinched the Karnataka state under 13 Open Championship 2023. Sathvik Adiga of Bengaluru, Sushanth Vaman Shetty of Dakshina Kannada, and Bhuvan Krishna Prasanth scored 7.5 points with better tie breaks secured 2nd, 3rd, and 4th place respectively.
In the Girl’s category at the end of the 9th round three-way tie Shriyana S Mallya of Dakshina Kannada, Siddhi Rao, and Sanjula Senthil both from Bengaluru scored 7.5 points on the better tie breaks Shriyana S Mallya clinched Karnataka State under 13 Girls Championship 2023. Siddhi Rao and Sanjula Senthil secured 2nd and 3rd place respectively.
Siddhanth Poonja, Sathvik Adiga, Shriyana S Mallya, and Siddhi Rao will represent Karnataka in the forthcoming Under 13 National to be held at Telangana.

Mysore Chess Center organized this chess tournament beautifully they provided a nice venue. All the prize winners and U07, U09, and U11 players received attractive trophies. The prizes were distributed by Sri. Mallanna Rtd Professor, Smt. Premleela Mallanna Rtd Professor and founder member of Celestial Minds. Sri. Vikram Das Proprietor, Dasprakash Paradise Hotel, Sri Nagendra Muralidhar Vice-president, KSCA, and Promoter, Mysore Chess Centre was present on this occasion.

The Arbiter team comprising Deputy Chief Arbiter FA Swapna Shivkumar, SNA Prashanth N, SNA Sagar P, and SNA Vijaya Kumar R S worked hard to complete the championship successfully without any appeal.

StateU13 - Karnataka State Chess Association

Dignitaries on the dias:

1. Sri. Manjunath Jain, Treasurer, KSCA
2. Sri. Aravind Shastri, Secretary, KSCA
4. Karnataka’s first Grand Master M.S.Thejkumar
5. D.P.Anantha, President, KSCA
6. Sri. Vikram Das, Proprietor, Dasprakash Paradise hotel
7. Sri.C.K.Muralidharan, Freelance Sports Journalist & Office -bearer MDCA
8. Sri. Nagendra Muralidhar, Vice-president, KSCA and Founder of Mysore Chess Centre

StateU13G - Karnataka State Chess Association

Left to Right: Sri Mallana, Smt Premleela Mallana, Siddhi Rao Sri Vikram Das, Shriyana S Mallya. Nagendra Muralidhar, Shanjula Senthil.

StateU13B - Karnataka State Chess Association

Left to Right: Sri Mallana, Smt Premleela, Sathvik Adiga, Sri Vikaram das, Siddhanth Poonja, Sushanth VamanShetty, Sri Nagendra Muralidhar.