Shet Prajwal is Karnataka State Champion 2022

Karnataka State Chess Championship 2022 was organized by Mysore Chess Center under the aegis of Karnataka State chess Association. Top four players from this championship will represent Karnataka in the forth coming MPL 59th Senior National Chess Championship 2022 to be held in Delhi. The prestigious event was inaugurated by Dr Raghavendra Prasad, Managing Director of Bhamys Constructions at Hotel Paradise Mysore, in presence of esteemed guests, Mr. C K Muralidhar Mysore District Chess Association; IM Ravi Hegde, Mr Vishawanath Das managing director Dasaprakash goup of Hotels, Dr Chnadra President RMB, Mr Nagendra Muralidhar Director Mysore chess center; Mr Raghavendra V Vice president of KSCA

The four days championship attracted 155 players from various part of the state. Out of which 100 players were FIDE rated. The tournament was conducted in Swiss league system consists of 8 rounds. Former state champion Sanjay N of Bangalore was the top seed with ELO rating 2295, Followed by FM Niranjan Navlgund(2246) of Belgaum.

After the end of 5th round Likith chilkuri got a sole lead with half point. In the 6th round Shet Prajwal and Sanjay N Join the leader with score of 5.5points. In the seventh round Shet prajwal P by defeating Likith chilkuri lead the race jointly with Sanjay N. On the eighth round sanjay N drew with Gavi siddya , Ojas Kulkarni drew with Shet Prajwal. At the end of 8th round Shet Prajwal P student of JSS Medical College Mysore and Sanjay N (Income tax) of Bangalore scored 7points with better tie break Shet Prajwal clinched the Dasaprakash Cup Karnataka State Chess Championship -2022.

Mysore chess center organized this chess tournament beautifully they provided nice venue. The prize fund was total Rs 3, 00,000/- distributed among the top 30 prize winners, All the prize winners and U07,U09,U11 and U13 players received attractive trophy. Shet Prajwal, Snajay N,Likith Chilkuri and Vivek Nambiar Qualified for forth coming nationals. The prize were distributed by Mr. Jaganath founder of Mysore district chess association, Mrs Vijaya Ramesh Vetran Athlete , Indira Ballal, former president rotary east. Mr Vishwanath Das managing director Dasaprakash goup of Hotels, Vivek Nambiar National player, IM Ravi Hedge, Mr Nagendramurlidhar Director Mysore chess center.

Arbiter team comprising of Deputy Chief Arbiter FA Karthik R and Asst. Arbiter SNA Sanjana K N worked efficiently for smooth conduct of tournament without any appeal.